My Name is Remy Ndiaye

My Name is Remy Ndiaye.

I am from Dakar, Senegal, and I came to the United States in July 2008 through the SEEDS (Sports for Education and Economic Development in Senegal) program. I am 24 years old and just graduated from Dallas Baptist University on August 8th 2014. I started playing basketball in July 1999, and since then the game has opened up many doors for me. Today basketball gave me the opportunity to represent Shooting Touch in Rwanda for a year. I didn’t think twice to take this opportunity because it has always been a dream for me to give back to my continent. Coming from Africa, I grew up facing almost the same obstacles that these kids are living now. At that time there were organizations similar to Shooting Touch that came and rescued me from that tough journey, and for that purpose I always had it in my mind that I would do the same thing for my younger brothers and sisters. Many people ask me if I am excited or nervous about my journey to Rwanda. I tell them I am extremely excited to not only meet my brothers and sisters but also to share with them what basketball has taught me, showed me, and gave me throughout these past years. I am really impressed with Shooting Touch because it is sending a message to people in need that they are not alone and that the organization will help them understand there are people who want to and will help them.

Many people I know have no idea where Rwanda is or if they have heard about it, a bad picture comes through their minds. For that purpose, I will use this opportunity to let them know what it is all about and that it came up based on one thing called BASKETBALL. On the other hand, I am excited and ready to give to my families in Rwanda love, support and knowledge based on the key to success.

Leave a Reply

