Summer Internship Series: Casey Hague Edition

Editor’s Note: Boston intern Casey Hague wrote this post.

I remember the balmy spring mornings with the aroma of fresh cut grass, the baseball diamond ready to go. There were those chilling winter hockey practices, and the sweltering summer days my senior year of high school on the football gridiron. I was never the star athlete in all my years playing sports, but participating in sport gave me some memories I will never forget. One thing that is emphasized in using sport as a tool for development is not to create elite athletes, but rather to teach the fundamentals and allow for social interaction; both of which can be applied to many important aspects in life.

IMG_0112

As a rising Junior at Boston College, I am majoring in Economics and Communication. I currently serve as the Assistant Director for WZBC Sports, the student run sports radio club. One can hear us on WZBC Newton 90.3 FM where we broadcast every BC football, hockey, basketball, and baseball game. Sport has always been a passion of mine and it culminated in a chance encounter. I found Shooting Touch through the Annual Spring Sports Conference where I was able to hear inspiring words from the likes of Brad Stevens, Jackie MacMullan, Kevin Eastman, and David Gross, the Commissioner of Major League Lacrosse. I was captivated by the award-winning video created by Chris Cardoza, and wanted to get involved.

Although my position is a Research, Reporting, and Development intern, that does not begin to define what I have done in the several weeks I have spent in our Norwood office. From working to develop a Monitoring and Evaluation plan, to tearing my pants off in front of the camera, I feel at home when I make my way up the four flights of stairs into the shared office space of iSlide and Shooting Touch. I have attended Data Day at Northeastern University, helped our fundraising team devise a streamlined grant-writing process, and researched how sport can be used as a tool for development around the world.

Although Shooting Touch has an established program in Rwanda, I have been working primarily on our newest program, Getting Girls in the Game, or G3 Boston. Although Rwanda and Boston are two very different places, I have learned that basketball has intrinsic properties which create an avenue for being active as well as increasing one’s overall mental health. Although I will only be here through August, I look forward to maximizing my effect on those that have not had the opportunities I have been lucky enough to have. Shooting Touch is a fantastic organization and I’m excited to see what we can do in the next few years.

Leave a Reply

