2015-2016 Shooting Touch Fellow Jazz Bishop – The Journey Begins….

Where do I begin? I leave for AFRICA in a month! It’s hard to put into words all of the different emotions going through me. I’m beyond excited for the journey. Basketball has always bee my life. Now being able to use it to help others who live in an under-resourced part of the world, it truly is a blessing.

         Although there are so many rewards and a lot of excitement with this opportunity, I still am nervous. I’m leaving my home and going to a different part of the world. A different country, a different culture, a different language. I can’t imagine what it will be like for my mother either. Back on my freshman year in college, when she was dropping me off at the dorms, she started bawling when my basketball coach said hi to her. Now i’m going to a different country for 10 months, I can only assume she will be a mess. Even with the apprehension, I’m confident that once I land in Rwanda and have a basketball in my hands, all of my worries will go away.

         Along with all of the excitement comes all of the prep work. I’ve already gotten clothing donations for the youth in Rwanda from places like my Alma Mater, Thomas College, and from the Maine Red Claws NBA D-League. I have also received sneaker donations from friends and family. And I continue to get help with donations from others. It’s great to see so many people in my community help me with such a great cause of helping the youth in Rwanda.

            With preparation, there is the Gala. I’m very eager for the Gala in September. It will be awesome to finally meet the entire Shooting Touch family, including my fellow grantee Matt. I look forward to hearing all of their advice and words of wisdom for my journey in Rwanda.

Leave a Reply

